Law Student Scholarships

 Applications for the 2017 Law Student Scholarships are now available! Below is a link to the application. 
Application Form

Scholarship Application Attached for Immediate Distribution to
Law Students Having an Interest in the Study and Practice of Tax Law in Texas

The Tax Section of the State Bar of Texas annually awards up to three $2,000 scholarships to students demonstrating academic excellence and commitment to the study and practice of tax law. Any student who is enrolled in an ABA accredited law school at the time the application is submitted and who intends to practice tax law in Texas is eligible to apply. We need you to help us spread the word about this scholarship.
The purpose of this scholarship is to assist students with their financial needs, facilitate and encourage students to enter the practice of tax law in Texas, and become active members of the State Bar Tax Section. Selection criteria of the scholarships include: merit, scholastic performance, financial need, and demonstrated experience and interest in the field of tax law. Consideration is also given to extracurricular activities both inside and outside law school, including but not limited to legal externships or internships with state or federal taxing authorities such as the Internal Revenue Service, Office of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, or Texas-based legal aid societies and clinics.
Applications must be postmarked or received by April 7, 2017. The scholarships will be awarded at the State Bar Annual Meeting in June 2017 in Dallas. Winners need not be present to accept the award.
A word version of the scholarship application is attached. Please contact me if you have any questions.
Thank you in advance for your help.
-Rob Morris,

2016 scholarship recipients are:  
Jessica Kirk, Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law
Jessica Kirk is a May 2016 magna cum laude graduate of the SMU Dedman School of Law in Dallas. Prior to enrolling at SMU, Ms. Kirk graduated from the University of Nebraska with a B.S. degree with a major in Interior Design in May 2007. She received her Masters of Science in Architecture in August 2010 from the University of Nebraska.

While attending law school, Ms. Kirk served as the President of the Real Estate Law Association from 2014-2016. She was on the Dean’s List from Fall 2012-Spring 2016. She was active in many academic and community activities, including Corporate Directors Institute Editor for the SMU Law Review Association, advocating in court for abused and neglected children through the Dallas Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA), and volunteering at the Housing Crisis Center (HCC) Legal Advice Clinic.

She also was a student attorney in the SMU Dedman School of Law’s Federal Taxpayers Clinic, where she represented clients who had a case pending in the U.S. Tax Court or were going through the IRS collection and appeals process.

Ms. Kirk joined the Dallas office of Thompson & Knight as a Tax Associate in October 2016.
Yang “Allyson” Li, the University of Houston Law Center
Allyson Li is currently enrolled in the University of Houston Law Center with an expected graduation date of May 2017. Prior to enrolling at the University of Houston, Ms. Li attended the East China University of Political Science and Law, located in Shanghai, graduating with a major in Law in July 2007. She then earned her LLM degree from the Louisiana State University Law Center in May 2008 and her MBA from Louisiana State University in May 2010.

She is currently the Vice President of the International Law Society and the Managing Editor of the Houston Journal of International Law.  

After graduating from law school, Ms. Li plans to pursue a career in tax law in Texas.
Sharmeen Ladhani, Vanderbilt Law School
Sharmeen Ladhani is a May 2016 graduate of the Vanderbilt School of Law. Prior to law school, she received a B.S. from the University of Texas at Austin-College of Communication Honors Program (Senior Fellows Program), with a major of Communication Studies, Concentration in Political Communication in May 2008 with a 4.0 GPA.

While in law school, Ms. Ladhani served as President of the South Asian Law Students Association and as Vice President of Middle-Eastern Law Students Association. She was an Honors Program intern at the Internal Revenue Service, Office of Chief Counsel in Dallas, and was offered and accepted a full time position. While there, she managed inventory of over 150 docketed Tax Court cases and wrote advisory legal opinions for IRS Agents on pertinent issues, and resolved cases related to tax shelters, bankruptcy and individual tax matters.

She was a summer Associate at Locke Lord in 2014 and Jones Day in 2015. Ms. Ladhani is proficient in Urdu and Hindi. She is now enjoying her position at the Internal Revenue Service in Dallas. 
Julio Mendoza-Quiroz, Texas Tech University School of Law
Julio Mendoza-Quiroz is a May 2016 graduate of the Texas Tech University School of Law. He did his undergraduate work at the University of New Mexico, graduating with a B.A. in Linguistics in December 2011. 

While at Texas Tech, he was the Articles Editor of the Texas Tech Law Review, and received the Outstanding Staff Editor Award. He was also a full time extern at the Office of the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts in the Tax Policy Division. As part of his externship, he prepared and delivered a training class for new Division attorneys on the federal framework affecting state and local tax administration. 

He served as the Community Service Chairman for the Hispanic Law Student Association, and has been active in the Austin Young Lawyers Association. In the summer of 2015, he was a law clerk at the 261st Texas Civil District Court and at McWhorther, Cobb & Johnson, LLP, both in Austin. 

Julio has a passion for tax law and has outstanding research, writing and analytical skills. He is employed in the Tax Policy Division of the Texas Comptroller’s Office working on state and local tax matters.
2015 Law Student Scholarship Recipients
  • Samantha Coleman, St. Mary’s University School of Law (San Antonio)
  • Ryan Phelps, University of Texas School of Law (Austin)
  • Neil Clausen, University of Virginia School of Law (Charlottesville, VA)
  • Kelsey Taylor, Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law (Dallas)
2014 Law Student Scholarship Recipients 
The Tax Section first awarded Law Student Scholarships in 2014. Recipients that year were:
  • Steve Cannon, Texas Tech University School of Law (Lubbock)
  • Thor Fielland, University of Texas at Austin School of Law
  • Megan James, Texas Tech University School of Law (Lubbock)

Home About 24/7 Free CLE Committees Texas Tax Lawyer News Pro Bono Awards Legends

Copyright © Tax Section of The State Bar of Texas.
Site Developed and Hosted by First Step Internet