The 2015-2016 Nominating Committee is pleased to deliver its 2015-2016 Nominating Committee Report

Nominating Committee Report

President Obama Nominates Elizabeth Ann Copeland to the United States Tax Court
  President Barack Obama recently announced his intent to nominate Elizabeth Ann Copeland as a Judge to the United States Tax Court.

Copeland served as Chair of the State Bar of Texas Tax Section in 2013 – 2014 and currently serves on the Tax Section Council.

“Elizabeth has demonstrated unwavering integrity and dedication throughout her career,” said President Obama. “I am proud to nominate her to serve on the United States Tax Court.”

Copeland is a partner in the Tax Practice Group of Strasburger & Price, LLP in San Antonio, Texas. She began her legal career as an attorney advisor to Judge Mary Ann Cohen of the United States Tax Court. During law school, she served as a clerk to Justice Eugene Cook of the Texas Supreme Court. Prior to that, she worked with Ernst & Whinney (now EY).

Copeland received a B.B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin and a J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law. She is a Certified Public Accountant.

More information about Copeland’s career is provided in The White House press release.


William H. Caudill Nominated as Chair-elect of the American Bar Association’s Section of Taxation

 Tax Section member and past Section Chair William H. Caudill   has been honored with nomination as chair-elect of the American Bar Association’s Section of Taxation. Caudill will lead  the ABA Tax Section’s approximately 20,000 members, focused  on serving its affiliates and the public through tax system education and leadership. 
Caudill is a long-time member of the State Bar of Texas and the Tax Section. He served as chair of the Tax Section from 1991- 1992.

His nomination as Section of Taxation chair-elect will be considered at the ABA’s 2015 Annual Meeting in August. Under the ABA bylaws, if confirmed as chair-elect, he will automatically become Section Chair for the term August 2016 through August 2017.

Caudill has been a partner with Norton Rose Fulbright in the firm's Houston office since 1986. His general tax practice focuses on partnerships, oil and gas, real estate, acquisitions and dispositions, tax-exempt organizations and work with the Internal Revenue Service. He also assists clients in bankruptcy and financially troubled commercial transactions.

Home About 24/7 Free CLE Committees Texas Tax Lawyer News Pro Bono Awards Legends

Copyright © Tax Section of The State Bar of Texas.
Site Developed and Hosted by First Step Internet