Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer

The Council of the State Bar of Texas Tax Section is soliciting nominees for the Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer Award. Please describe the nominee’s qualifications using the form on the next page. Please attach additional sheets if needed.
Nominees must: (i) be a member in good standing of the State Bar of Texas or an inactive member thereof; (ii) a former full time professor of tax law who taught at an accredited Texas law school; or (iii) a full time professor of tax law who is currently teaching at an accredited Texas law school. In addition, nominees must have (1) devoted at least 75% of his or her law practice to taxation law, and (2) been licensed to practice law in Texas or another jurisdiction for at least ten years.1 The award may be granted posthumously.

In selecting a winner, the Council will consider a nominee’s reputation for expertise and professionalism within the community of tax professionals specifically and the broader legal community; authorship of scholarly works relating to taxation law; significant participation in the State Bar of Texas, American Bar Association, local bar associations, or legal fraternities or organizations; significant contributions to the general welfare of the community; significant pro bono activities; reputation for ethics; mentorship of other tax professionals; experience on the bench relating to taxation law; experience in academia relating to taxation law; and other significant contributions or experience relating to taxation law.

Nominations should be submitted to Charolette Noel, Tax Section Secretary, by email to cfnoel@jonesday.com no later than April 1, 2018. The award will be presented at the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Tax Section in Houston, Texas on June 21, 2018.
1 “Law practice” means work performed primarily for the purpose of rendering legal advice or providing legal representation, and also includes: service as a judge of any court of record; corporate or government service if the work performed was legal in nature and primarily for the purpose of providing legal advice to, or legal representation of, the corporation or government agency or individuals connected therewith; and the activity of teaching at an accredited law school; and “Taxation law” means “Tax Law” as defined by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization’s standards for attorney certification in Tax Law; tax controversy; employee benefits and executive compensation practice; criminal defense or prosecution relating to taxation; taxation practice in the public and private sectors, including the nonprofit sector; and teaching taxation law or related subjects at an accredited law school.
William ("Bill") Elliott Recognized as 2017 Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer
 The Tax Section is pleased to recognize Bill Elliott as Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer.
The award was presented on June 22, 2017 at the SBOT/Tax Section Annual Meeting Speaker/Awards Dinner. 

William D. (“Bill”) Elliott is a partner with Elliott, Thomason & Gibson, LLP in Dallas, Texas. He is referred to by many as a teacher, author, practitioner and public servant. In his practice of tax law, he represents families, businesses and owners in tax planning, estate planning, business transactions and IRS controversy. He received his J.D. from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law in 1973 and his Master of Laws from New York University in 1974.

His many leadership roles include serving as an Appointed Member of the Board of Directors of the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He has served as the Chair of the Board of Directors of the State Bar of Texas, Past Member of the Board of Directors, Past Member of the Executive Committee of the State Bar of Texas, and Past Chair of the Section of Taxation of the State Bar of Texas. He is a Fellow of the American College of Tax Counsel and a Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation.

Mr. Elliott has a passion for recognizing and preserving the history of various legendary tax lawyers. In 2009, he started the Texas Tax Legends Project with the sponsorship of the State Bar of Texas Tax Section. The project involves a filmed interview of leading tax lawyers in Texas and elsewhere about their careers.

Bill holds two board certifications in both Tax Law and Estate Planning and Probate Law and has been a Texas lawyer for over 40 years. Leaders like Bill are rare, and his peers have recognized that trait in him throughout his career.

He is truly an outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer! 

Past Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer Honorees

We are pleased to recognize and provide more information about our previous honorees:

2016     Louise Hytken

2015    Sander Shapiro

2014    Hon. Juan F. Vasquez 
2013    Ira B. Shepard  (deceased)
2012    Emily Parker 
2011    Stanley M. Johanson
2010    Charles O. Galvin (deceased)  
2009    Stanley L. Blend
2008    Steve Salch  (deceased)
2007    Buford P. Berry  
2007    Ron Kalteyer (deceased) 
2006    Charles Hall 
2003    Vester T. Hughes, Jr. (deceased)

Home About 24/7 Free CLE Committees Texas Tax Lawyer News Pro Bono Awards Legends

Copyright © Tax Section of The State Bar of Texas.
Site Developed and Hosted by First Step Internet www.fsr.com